In Order to form a more perfect Union

Julius Givens
4 min readMay 27, 2022
Preamble detail from a Dunlap & Claypoole original printing of the United States Constitution, 1787

On April 29th, 2014 in Waseca, Wisconsin a concerned citizen called 911 to report that she noticed a young man in an unusual manner walk through her backyard and into a storage locker nearby. When officers arrived to the storage locker to investigate the 911 call, they found seventeen-year-old John LaDue standing next to what appeared to be bomb making materials. At LaDue’s home and in his bedroom, police found an assault rifle, handgun, and other already made explosive devices.

LaDue would later confess to a plot to kill his family, bomb his school, take out weapons on his classmates, and set a fire to distract first responders that may respond to the active shooter incident at his school. Below is an excerpt from his hours-long confession.

LaDue: First off, I wasn’t bullied at all. I don’t even think I’ve been bullied in my life.

Officer: Okay.

LaDue: I have good parents, I live in a good town, I think I’m just really mentally ill and no one’s noticed and I’ve been trying to hide it.

LaDue continues later to say,

LaDue: I was planning to dispose of my family, too.

Officer: Why would you dispose of your family? What have they done?

LaDue: They did nothing wrong, I just wanted as many victims as…

--

--

Julius Givens

A Chicago Police Officer committed to the three most important aspects of policing: Public Trust, Police Accountability, and Police Effectiveness.